Remembering 9/11

I hold in my hands …

The dust.

The dust and wreckage of the towers.

Even though I wasn’t there,

I can still feel it.

It has damaged my hands with dirt.

It has damaged my heart with sorrow.

It has damaged my body with fear,

and it has damaged my life with war.

I hold in my hands..

Hope.

Hope for the future.

Hope for peace.

Hope for my country’s freedom.

And hope for America to win this war on terrorism.

Written by then 6th grader, Aaron Walsh in October 2001.

 

I love seeing and hearing the way that children view things and this is perfect. He was wise beyond his years and put it into words much better than some American adults.

I take today to Remember all those lost and all those that helped the victims and their families. I only wish I had been able to help out. Today I pray for all affected by the tragedy of September 11, 2001.

 

Leave a Reply

a mom blog community!
// ==================================================== // Prevent editor from stripping iframe code // ==================================================== function mytheme_tinymce_config( $init ) {  $valid_iframe = 'iframe[id|class|title|style|align|frameborder|height|longdesc|marginheight|marginwidth|name|scrolling|src|width]';  if ( isset( $init['extended_valid_elements'] ) ) {   $init['extended_valid_elements'] .= ',' . $valid_iframe;  } else {   $init['extended_valid_elements'] = $valid_iframe;  }  return $init; } add_filter('tiny_mce_before_init', 'mytheme_tinymce_config');
