Back to school and Crock Pot Meals!

So my little man start Kindergarten last Monday and I didn’t cry!! Now don’t think I am a heartless parent! He went to Pre-K at the same Elementary school he attends now so all my crying was done at the start of the last school year!

So now is the time that I am running around like a mad woman trying to fit everything into my day! Wake up, get both kids ready for the day, drop off at school, come back get some physical activity in!, clean up this house, put Sophie down for a short nap, shower, lunch, play time, quick nap, pick up at school (some of those crazy Moms get there 2 hours before school gets out!), snack, change clothes and run out the door for baseball practice!! Whew! The come home and ask “What are we doing for dinner?!” Yeah Dinner, I forgot to pull something out and there is nothing that isn’t frozen. Now what?! This is where my crock pot comes in super handy! I love this invention! It makes dinner so easy, just prep it before I wake the kids up and let it cook all day, who doesn’t love that!

There are tons of crock pot recipes on Pinterest but I will give you my favorite 🙂

Chicken Tortilla Soup! My favorite! It cures my Mexican food craving without doing another taco night!
I make a BIG crock pot full and eat it for days!

The Ingredients:
–3 cups of chicken broth
–1 1/2 cups cooked chicken
–1/2 onion
–1 cup frozen roasted corn
–2 green onions
–28 oz can of tomatoes and juice
–1 cup chopped up vegetables that you have on hand (I used celery & carrots)
–4 cloves of garlic ( I am STILL out of fresh garlic)
–1/4 t crushed red pepper flakes
–1/2 t cayenne pepper
–1 t cumin
–salt to taste
optional garnish:
–tortilla chips
–avocado
–sour cream

The Directions:
Dice all veggies into chunks. Dump everything into the crockpot, don’t worry if anything is frozen
just dump it in at the same time! Cook on low for 8-10 hours, or high for 6 or so.
I sometime will even put it all in the crock the night before, put it in the refrigerator, then turn it on in the morning!

So yummy, easy and filling!!

Leave a Reply

a mom blog community!
// ==================================================== // Prevent editor from stripping iframe code // ==================================================== function mytheme_tinymce_config( $init ) {  $valid_iframe = 'iframe[id|class|title|style|align|frameborder|height|longdesc|marginheight|marginwidth|name|scrolling|src|width]';  if ( isset( $init['extended_valid_elements'] ) ) {   $init['extended_valid_elements'] .= ',' . $valid_iframe;  } else {   $init['extended_valid_elements'] = $valid_iframe;  }  return $init; } add_filter('tiny_mce_before_init', 'mytheme_tinymce_config');
