Cloth Diapers!!

Did anyone else get resistance from family when you were deciding to cloth diaper? My family and most of my friends responded with “Cloth diapers? Like with pins and plastic pants!?”, when I explained that we wanted to use cloth diapers and why. My husband supports me 200% thank goodness!

                          Here are my top 5 reasons for cloth diapering:

  • Cloth diapers have come a long way from pins and plastic pants!
  • They are easy to care for
  • Cloth diapers are good for at home use as well as on the go!
  • They are an economical choice
  • ONE family can make a difference in the environment and the amount of diapers sitting in our landfills!

             That tiny baby can make a huge impact on the earth. A 1991 report stated that over 300 pounds of wood, 50 pounds of petroleum feedstocks and 20 pounds of chlorine are used to produce disposable diapers for one baby each year. Using our petrochemical resources to diaper our babies is probably using those resources in the wrong way, when you consider that we have cotton, hemp, wool, and other renewable materials that can do the job perfectly well.

            This year Americans will toss 27 billion disposable diapers into landfills. Once sent to a landfill, those diapers will be there a long time.
According to the Real Diaper Association, it’s unknown how long a disposable diaper will take to decompose, but it is estimated to be between 250 to 500 years. And as mentioned earlier, disposable diapers containing fecal matter are supposed to have their contents shaken out over the toilet before they are thrown away. If this doesn’t happen, fecal matter that should enter the sewage system goes into the landfills, where it could seep into the ground water.

            By choosing cloth diapers, a family can keep from adding diapers to the landfills, while keeping their impact on the earth lower by using renewable resources.

            Culturally, we are led to believe that an individual or an individual family cannot begin to have an impact on the woes of the world—especially the environmental woes. In reality, that is exactly who will make a difference: real people, taking simple actions in their daily lives.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Danielle Harper
    Jun 19, 2011 @ 03:19:12

    Your blog is lookin good! And I love this post. My parents looked at me like I was C.R.A.Z.Y. when I said we were switching to cloth. It took my mom and sister quite a while to change a cloth diaper, but once they saw how easy it was and how much money I was saving they completely changed their tune. Dustin was skeptical at first because he was concerned with the whole “but what do you do with the poop” part….. once I assured him I would not be tossing poopy diapers straight into the wash he was all for it. One day when we woke up I put our youngest in a cloth diaper and we haven’t looked back since. It’s a way of life now and I love it. Wow I am writing a book.

    Oh and in your previous post I saw that Monday is your birthday – Happy Early Birthday – I am 26 too!! My birthday is Jan 25th. For some reason 26 felt so much older than 25, hehe.

    Reply

    • growingfromthreetofour
      Jun 19, 2011 @ 03:30:27

      Yeah I think I have gotten more CRAZY looks from my family and friends that the random people I talk to about it 🙂

      And thanks for the Happy Birthday! I have a feeling 26 is going to feel a lot older than 25, I think its the 2 kids that do it 🙂

      Reply

  2. Sarah at Musings of a SAHM
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 21:32:31

    The only one I got crazy looks from was my husband. He said, “Why use cloth diapers when you can use disposables?” What ultimately convinced him was the cost factor. When we made the switch, I started using cloth during the day and disposables at night, but now we are using CD about 100% of the time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

a mom blog community!
// ==================================================== // Prevent editor from stripping iframe code // ==================================================== function mytheme_tinymce_config( $init ) {  $valid_iframe = 'iframe[id|class|title|style|align|frameborder|height|longdesc|marginheight|marginwidth|name|scrolling|src|width]';  if ( isset( $init['extended_valid_elements'] ) ) {   $init['extended_valid_elements'] .= ',' . $valid_iframe;  } else {   $init['extended_valid_elements'] = $valid_iframe;  }  return $init; } add_filter('tiny_mce_before_init', 'mytheme_tinymce_config');
